Animals · Comfort Food · Dairy Free · Popular · Recipes · Vegetarian

Sweet Potato & Black Bean Veggie Burgers

 

I have a lot on my mind today.  I’m not really ready to share what’s been consuming my thoughts lately, but I promise I will eventually…

Pinky promise! 😉

I spoke with my best friend Brooke – who I also just recently visited this week…

brooke

Boo. I miss her already. I also miss that little pup (Luna)!  Isn’t she the cutest!?

Brooke said I need to “just try to stay busy and stay positive.”  As always, Brooke was right.  So, to stay busy, I decided to get my butt in the kitchen.  The kitchen is my happy place after all.  Aside from being on my paddle board of course! 🙂

I turned up my Pandora, poured a glass of wine and decided to make some homemade soap and Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers (don’t worry, I didn’t combine the two).

fullsizeoutput_176d

The happiness keeps climbing! 🙂 🙂 🙂

These burgers are very similar to my last recipe, but they are just different enough to share. 🙂   I assumed y’all wouldn’t mind.

And if you do mind, please keep it to yourself…because I’m really not in the best mood today….

Oh wait! Happy Place! And Happy Thoughts!

fullsizeoutput_1771

That’s more like it.

Sweet Potato & Black Bean Veggie Burger
Yield: 6 large patties
Adapted from Cookie & Kate

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 pounds sweet potatoes (smaller potatoes cook faster)
  • 1/3 cup uncooked millet or quinoa (or 1 cup cooked)
  • 3/4 cup old fashioned oats (use certified gluten-free oats if you are avoiding gluten)
  • 1 cup black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 small white onion, diced
  • 1.5 teaspoons cumin powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne powder (optional, to taste)
  • Dried cilantro – I didn’t have any fresh, but I prefer that over dried, so I recommend using it if you have some on hand
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Vegetable oil for cooking burgers (or coconut oil, if you don’t mind the coconut taste)
  • 6 whole wheat hamburger buns (optional)
  • Optional burger fixings : avocado or guacamole, tomato or pico de gallo, lettuce or spinach, sprouts, ketchup, hot sauce, mustard, pickles, cheese, mayo etc.
 INSTRUCTIONS:
  1. Roast the sweet potatoes: Preheat the oven to 400F. Slice the sweet potatoes down the center lengthwise. Place the sweet potatoes cut side down on a rimmed baking sheet. Roast 30-40 minutes or until fork easily punches through. Once the sweet potatoes are cool enough to handle, remove the skin (it comes off easily) and roughly chop the insides. Set aside to cool completely.
  2. Cook the quinoa according to package then drain off any excess water. Set aside to cool.
  3. Grind the oats: Use a food processor or blender to grind the oats until the flakes are broken up, but not as fine as flour.
  4. Mix the burgers: In a large mixing bowl combine the cooled sweet potatoes, quinoa and the remaining ingredients – it’s ok if the black beans get smashed in the process. If possible, cover and refrigerate the mixture for best results (the patties hold together better if they are chilled first).
  5. Shape the burgers: Use a measuring cup, scoop out 1/2 cup of the mixture. Gently shape it into a patty about 3 1/2 inches in diameter. Use your hands to gently flatten the burgers and smooth out any jagged edges. Repeat the process for each patty; you should end up with about 6.
  6. Cooking options:

1- Pan fry the burgers: Heat 1T oil in a large cast iron or non-stick skillet over medium heat. When it’s hot, place burgers in the pan and cook each patty until browned and heated through, about 3 to 4 minutes per side.

2- Baking the burgers: Preheat the oven to 400F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Brush the patties liberally with extra-virgin olive oil, then place them on the baking sheet. Bake until the patties are deeply golden on the outside, about 35 minutes, flipping halfway.

I chose the baking method. 🙂

fullsizeoutput_1772

fullsizeoutput_1770

And my fixings included ketchup, melted mozzarella, spinach and avocado.  I served it on a toasted whole wheat thin bun. YUM!

fullsizeoutput_1764

Buddy approved.  He even helped me clean the bowl!

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend so far.  And thanks for helping me get back to my happy place. 🙂

Much love. ❤

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

