Health · Photos · Popular

Things I want to Accomplish.

Bryan jetted (I mean yachted) off to the Bahamas yesterday.  I’d like to say I’m getting used to him leaving, but I’m not. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to it.  And this time, he’s gone for almost an entire month – the longest we have ever been away from each other. 😦

WOMP. WOMP. 😦 😦 😦 

To make the time go by faster, and to get better use of it, I’ve made a list of Things I Want to Accomplish While Bryan is Gone.  I use the word accomplish rather than To-Do because I feel like To-Do makes it a chore.  Accomplish just makes you feel good after you’ve completed the task(s).  Don’t you agree?  Plus, you’ll notice that a lot of the things on my list aren’t just things I want to do, a lot of them are goals.

Here are just a few things I hope to accomplish in the next few weeks:

1- Working on my garden.  I don’t remember if I told you, but I started a garden!  This is something I’ve been wanting to accomplish for awhile now, but I’ve lived in apartments most of my adult life so I’ve never really had a chance to.  Now that I live in a house, I can finally do it!

fullsizeoutput_174cI started by planting Cauliflower, Swiss Chard and Sunflowers in a small, plastic potting container which I plan on transferring to a bigger area in our yard once they start to grow.

IMG_6315

And yes, I like to garden barefoot because sometimes the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair. – K. Gibram.

2- Read books. Yes, actual books.  Shocking right? I used to read books a lot, but lately I haven’t been.  I blame the fact that I have two college degrees and for awhile, I was forced to read as homework – I’ve never been one who likes being forced to do things (there’s that to-do term again..).  But now, I’m able to read for pleasure so I need to get myself back on the reading bandwagon.

Any book suggestions???

3- Exercising.  I am not a gym person.  The idea of spending an hour inside a small building with people dripping with sweat and staring at themselves in the mirror just isn’t my idea of a good time.  I prefer to get my exercise by paddle boarding, taking a yoga class or a long walk outside with the pups.

4- Spending time with girlfriends.  This is a no-brainer.  I’m always telling Bryan that one of my biggest complaints about living in south Florida is that I don’t feel like I have a lot of girlfriends.  Most of my close friends live back home in Idaho, or I met them years ago in zoo school, so now they are spread out all over the country.  As a 34-year-old woman, it’s difficult to meet new girlfriends.

Well, the longer I live in Florida, the more I realize that I actually do have some good friends here, I just don’t make enough time for them. I work during the week and I don’t usually get home until after 7, then I’m often dog sitting or too tired to want to do anything after work, so I usually just come home, eat dinner, hang out with Bryan and the pups for a bit, then I go to bed, only to wake up and do it all over again the following day.  Then on my weekends I usually want to hang out with Bryan.

I’ve officially become that girl.

It happens.

Well, I need to work on that.  And what better time to do it than while Bryan is gone?

No excuses.

5- Cut back on social media.  Lately I’m realizing that I spend too much time on Facebook.  Just the other day I was sitting at the doctor’s office and I caught myself checking Facebook at least five times in less than 15 minutes.  That’s sad.  Honestly, I don’t even know what I was checking…it’s just become such a habit that it has become natural for me to check Facebook and Instagram anytime I’m sitting somewhere for an extended period of time.  Then I realized that most of the time, all it really does is make me sad.  Sure, I love seeing pictures of my friends and family and what they are doing with their lives, but let’s be real, most of the time I just compare my life to theirs, and most of these friends I haven’t seen or talked to in years.  Sounds a bit harsh I know, but I’m sure y’all can agree, at least to some extent.  So, I’m making it a goal to cut back on social media.  There are much better (and more productive) ways to spend my time.

Like gardening…

And reading…

And doing yoga…

And spending time with girlfriends…

And….

COOKING OF COURSE! Another no-brainer. 🙂

pepper

I started last night by making this delicious Quinoa Stuffed Pepper.  

Stay tuned for this recipe…it’s a good one. 🙂

Have a wonderful night y’all! I think it’s time I do some reading. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

