Animals · Breakfast Foods · Photos · Quick Meals · Vegetarian

Protein Breakfast Bowl

I’ve been on a quinoa kick this week.  I blame my best friend.  I was visiting her last week and she told me she usually makes a large batch of quinoa and keeps it in her fridge, then adds it to different meals throughout the week.

You’re a Genius. I told her.

So what did I do as soon as I got home? I made a huge batch of quinoa of course!

And the first thing I did with it was make this delicious breakfast bowl that I’m now addicted to…

fullsizeoutput_1782

Which I can also thank my best friend for…because she made it for me while I was there and I loved it!

This breakfast bowl is packed with protein from the eggs and quinoa and it’s also oh-so-delicious. 

Protein Breakfast Bowl
Yield: serves 1

INGREDIENTS:

  • *1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 pepper (I used yellow), sliced
  • 1/4 cup onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • Dried parsley to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • hot sauce to taste (optional)

INSTRUCTIONS:

Add cooked quinoa to small serving bowl.  Set aside.  Add olive oil to a small heated skillet, then add pepper, onion and garlic.  Cook over medium heat until fragrant (don’t overcook!).  Add eggs and scramble with the cooked peppers and onion.  When eggs are cooked to your liking (I like mine fluffy and slightly undercooked), put them in bowl with prepared quinoa.  Add feta cheese, dried parsley, salt, pepper, cumin and (optional) hot sauce and stir until combined.  And as always, ENJOY!

*If you don’t have quinoa already prepared. Combine 1/2 cup quinoa with 1 cup water and prepare according to package.

fullsizeoutput_1780

Sour cream and avocado would also make excellent additions to this bowl.  Hmmmm next time…

fullsizeoutput_1781

Thank you for the recipe Brooke! This is definitely a new morning favorite!

Hope everyone is having a nice week so far!  I spent my day off doing some things around the house, then I took Buddy paddle boarding…

Watershot Camera

It was really hot today so we didn’t last very long, but it was nice to get on the water. It’s been awhile – awhile for me is a few weeks!

Then I came home and snuggled with Baxter…

fullsizeoutput_1773

He’s been a bit sad since his dad left Monday, so I’m making sure to give him lots of attention and snuggles.

Then I treated myself to a massage! Hey, a girl deserves to be treated every once in awhile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

