Animals · Comfort Food · Dogs · Photos · Quick Meals · Recipes · Vegetarian

Simple Stuffed Pepper

fullsizeoutput_1779

My quinoa kick continues…

It’s been a very busy week for me – I’ve been trying to stay busy while Bryan is gone (this is my solution for making the time go by faster).  And yes, y’all will be happy to know that I have accomplished four out of five things on my Things I want to Accomplish list:

Reading: I’m currently reading Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus.  Sadly, I started this book awhile ago and never have finished it, so I made it a point to finish it a.s.a.p!

Has anybody else read this book? Thoughts???

Exercising: I took Buddy paddle boarding yesterday for about an hour, and I’ve been doing a lot of yoga this week.

Watershot Camera

Spending time with girlfriends: that’s right, I had three of my girlfriends (who I also happen to work with) over Thursday night for drinks and snacks.  It was so lovely spending time with them outside of work.  It’s amazing how well you can get to know someone when you’re not having to fill prescriptions, restrain dogs and answer phone calls (I’m a veterinary technician for those who didn’t know or forgot!).  The wine assisted in us opening up too of course. 🙂

IMG_6562

My friend Melanie took this picture of Baxter sitting on my lap – clearly he enjoyed having some friends over too. 🙂

And this was Buddy just as they were leaving…

IMG_6561

I feel like he’s saying, “please don’t leave me alone with this crazy woman again!” 🙂

Cutting back on social media: I admit, I haven’t done as well as I had hoped on this one, but I do think I’ve cut back a little, so I take that as a step in the right direction.  Baby steps!

Hey, I managed to do almost all of my things to accomplish in less than a week! I’m off to a running start my friends.

Okay, now that y’all see I’ve been busy…I haven’t set aside a lot of time for cooking.  Plus, since I’m being honest, I haven’t gone to the grocery store in awhile.  So on Tuesday, when I opened my refrigerator door I realized I had very few vegetables, except for one lone pepper.

Luckily, sed lone pepper had some cherry tomato and onion friends on the counter. And I also still had extra quinoa leftover from the large batch I made earlier in the week.

It’s time to stuff this lone pepper.

Stuff it good.

I love stuffed peppers.  It’s like Christmas morning slicing one open cuz ya never know what you’re gonna get!

Thank you Forest Gump.

fullsizeoutput_177c

Okay, I guess I knew what I was gonna get considering I stuffed this pepper myself.  But let’s pretend…

Simple Stuffed Pepper 
Yield: serves 1

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 orange pepper (any color will do!)
  • 1/2 cup – 3/4 cup cooked quinoa
  • handful of cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1/4 cup white onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheese, plus more for topping – I used Colby Jack
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup marinara sauce
  • 1/2 tsp cumin

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Cut top top of the pepper off and carefully remove the inner seeds to your liking.
  3. Combine quinoa, tomatoes, onion, 1/4 cup cheese, marinara salt and pepper, and cumin in a small bowl.  Stir until combined.

fullsizeoutput_1776

And don’t let your furry friends get it…

fullsizeoutput_1777

4.  Place pepper in a small baking dish (or a cookie sheet) and stuff with quinoa mixture.

5.  Top with more cheese and bake 15-20 minutes, or until cheese is melted completely and pepper has some character to it. 🙂

fullsizeoutput_177b

Serve alongside your favorite red (or white!) wine and enjoy!

fullsizeoutput_177a

I dipped mine in more marinara sauce. I love me some marinara!

Happy weekend everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

