Breakfast Foods · Dairy Free · Popular · Quick Meals · Smoothies · Vegan · Vegetarian

Healthy Green Smoothie.

fullsizeoutput_177d

This may come as a surprise to y’all, but I am not a huge fan of spinach.  Shocking, right? I don’t know what it is about it, but it’s never been a type of green that tickles my fancy.  Perhaps it’s the boring, bland taste…or the large and obnoxious tasteless stems…

Whatever it may be, I think it’s safe to say that Popeye and I are at a huge disagreement.

popeye-with-spinach.jpg
photo credit: wonderwardrobes.com

Hey, I yam what I yam! Toot toot!

The only real reason I eat spinach is because I know it’s good for me.  Spinach is an excellent source of vitamin K, vitamin A, manganese, folate, magnesium, iron, vitamin B2 and B6, vitamin E, calcium, potassium and vitamin C. It’s also a very good source of dietary fiber, zinc and protein (source).

I guess Popeye knew what he was talking about…

For all of you spinach haters out there, I’m here to let you in on a little secret…

You very rarely taste spinach in smoothies.  At least not good smoothies.  So to ensure you’re getting your weekly (or daily) spinach dose, just make yourself a damn smoothie!

You. Are. Welcome.  

You can thank me later…

I accept money, great recipes and wine.

My current favorite smoothie is a spin off of my St. Patrick’s Day Green Smoothie only, I think I like this one better!

HEALTHY GREEN SMOOTHIE
Yield: Serves 1

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups packed spinach
  • 3 pitted dates
  • 1 cup almond milk, or milk of choice
  • 1 frozen banana, peeled
  • 1 scoop protein powder – Amazing Grass is my favorite.
  • 3 ice cubes

INSTRUCTIONS: Add above ingredients to a high speed blender and blend until smooth.

fullsizeoutput_177e

Popeye would be so proud. 🙂

fullsizeoutput_177f

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend! Enjoy those last few hours.

I’m about to pour me a glass of wine and watch a movie.

Leave a Reply

