Appetizers · Dairy Free · Vegan · Vegetarian

Mango Salsa

They say you are what you eat…

1803.jpg

Teehee. 🙂

All jokes aside, if this is true, it’s only a matter of time before I turn into a mango.

Yes folks, MAYngo Madness continues in our household – it’s like March Madness, only mangoes replace basketballs and May replaces March. So really, it’s nothing like March Madness at all…

The good news is, no mangoes have been wasted during Mayngo Madness, and the bad news is, some were harmed…or eaten.

For today’s mango recipe, I decided to listen to y’all (thanks for the suggestions by the way!) and make Mango Salsa!  And let me just say, I’m so glad I took your advice!

I bet this mango salsa would be fantastic on fish tacos (which y’all know I LOVE!) or just about any fresh, Mexican-themed dish (which I also LOVE).

Are ya feelin’ the love yet!?  

I can confirm that it goes well with chips…

fullsizeoutput_17c5

And it’s excellent straight out of the bowl as a salad.

fullsizeoutput_17c3

It’s that good.

I also would love to try it on top of a fresh plate of greens – which I would have done if I didn’t gobble it up right after I made it! No joke…Bryan and I ate it all almost immediately.  Although, I was kind enough to take a small portion to work to share with the girls, but it wasn’t by choice, it was out of kindness.:) Teehee.

fullsizeoutput_17c4fullsizeoutput_17c2

Mango Salsa
Yield: 3-4 servings

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 large mango, peeled & diced
  • 1/2 cup peeled, diced zucchini
  • 1 T finely chopped jalapeno
  • 1/2 cup diced onion (I used white, but red would work too)
  • 1 T fresh lime juice
  • 1/3 cup chopped cilantro
  • salt & pepper

INSTRUCTIONS:

Combine the mango, zucchini, jalapeño, onion, lime juice & cilantro. Mix well.  Season with salt & pepper, to taste.  Enjoy!

STORAGE SUGGESTIONS: Honestly, I’ll be amazed if you have any leftovers! But in the rare case that you do, you can store the salsa in the refrigerator, covered, for several days. It’s best fresh, though.

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend so far!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

