Animals · Appetizers · Photos · Quick Meals · Recipes · Sea Turtles · Vegetarian

Zucchini Cakes

Let me start with my good news!

No, I’m NOT pregnant…and no, I’m NOT getting married…

The good news is, with the help of Bryan and the girls at work, I have successfully completed my Mayngo Mission.  That’s right y’all, Mayngo Madness has finally subsided.  Our tree has stopped producing fruit and we have managed to eat almost every mango from it – aside from the few that the squirrels got to first.

Darn rodents. 

Now, onward and upward to the next non-mango recipe (I was beginning to worry I wouldn’t be able to say that for awhile)…

One of my favorite things to do when I’m bored (which is rare), is to rummage through old photos on my phone.  I’m not one of those crazy people who has 2,000 pictures saved on their phone, but I do save most of my favorites.  Which comes in handy when I am sitting in a doctor’s office waiting.

Which is exactly what happened last week when I was waiting for my OBGYN appointment (yippee).  As I was scrolling through my photographs, I found this one…

fullsizeoutput_175c

And I couldn’t remember if I had shared this recipe with y’all or not.  So, after an intense blog search on wineandwieners I didn’t see it anywhere.

Blasphemy!

What was I thinking?! This has been one of my all-time favorite recipes and I can’t believe I have kept it in hiding for so long.  Please accept my deepest apologies. 

fullsizeoutput_17d5

Zucchini Cakes
Yield: 8 cakes
Adjusted lightly from Life’s Ambrosia

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 large zucchni grated, excess water removed (To do this, after you grate the zucchini, put the grated zucchini into paper towels and squeeze to release the water)
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg (LESS IS MORE!)
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 egg
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1-2 T olive oil

INSTRUCTIONS:

1- Combine all ingredients, except olive oil, in a bowl and mix thoroughly. Using a heaping tablespoon form the mixture into 8 patties.

fullsizeoutput_17d1

2- Heat olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Once heated, add patties and cook until golden brown. About 3-4 minutes per side. Serve & enjoy.

 

fullsizeoutput_175e

These zucchini cakes make an excellent appetizer, or you can enjoy them as an entree with a nice salad or a baked sweet potato (like I did!).  I also highly recommend dipping them in ranch. 🙂

____

Hope y’all are having a great week so far.  It’s been another busy one for me consisting of some gorgeous sunrises and a lot of new sea turtle nests!  The mommas have already been working hard this season and it makes me so happy.

fullsizeoutput_17d0

These are Leatherback Sea Turtle tracks – the largest turtles on Earth, growing up to seven feet long and exceeding 2,000 pounds. These reptilian relics are the only remaining representatives of a family of turtles that traces its evolutionary roots back more than 100 million years. Once prevalent in every ocean except the Arctic and Antarctic, the leatherback population is rapidly declining in many parts of the world (source).  This is the third Leatherback nests I have seen since I started surveying and I get emotional each and every time I see one.

IMG_7009

 

fullsizeoutput_17cf

No filter needed for this perfect sunrise on Tuesday morning.

fullsizeoutput_17ce

Sometimes I can’t believe I live in such a beautiful place.

Have a great week and weekend everyone!  Bryan and I are headed up north to see his family for Memorial Day so I’ll be out of commission for awhile.  Enjoy your holiday weekend.

___

Side note: a little fun fact about me.  There are a few food words I almost always have a difficult time spelling and zucchini is one of them, along with delicious and broccoli.

Are there any food words you have a hard time spelling? 

Leave a Reply

