Comfort Food · Quick Meals · Recipes · Vegetarian

Vegetable Fried Rice

Well….the plague is finally starting to subside.  And by subside I mean I am slowly starting to get my energy back, the coughing has decreased, and I’m only down to about 5 cough drops a day (as opposed to an entire bag).

Hey, I’ll take that as a win. 

I can honestly say that I haven’t been this sick in a very long time.  Which had me thinking…perhaps my body is trying to tell me something.  Like I’m overdoing it.  I’ve been going through some emotional stress (something I’ll eventually share) and working 3 physically demanding jobs, all while trying to spend time with Bryan and the pups, as well as by myself.

Ya know, me time they call it.

I think my body finally said eff you (pardon my language). And honestly, I don’t blame it.  That’s a lot for anyBODY – emotionally AND physically.

So this weekend I’ve really made an effort to take care of my body.  I’ve been drinking a ton of fluids – unfortunately no wine. 😦  And I’ve been resting.  Uhhhh-lot. I’ve been sleeping close to 10 hours a night, then napping 2-3 hours a day.  And I’m not normally a napper.  But my body needs it.  It told me.  I can feel it.  And ya know what? I don’t feel  guilty about it – something I normally do is feel guilty for being lazy.   Luckily, Mother Nature has been on my side too.  We have had 2 days of solid rain.  The perfect napping weather.

I’ve also been a bit lazy in the kitchen.  I’ve tried cooking a few times and only manage to muster up the energy to make simple things like smoothies and pizza.

And this vegetable fried rice. 

fullsizeoutput_1809

This rice is a brilliant and simple way to use up leftovers that comes together in about 20 minutes – a win-win when you’re feeling dumpy.  It can accommodate practically any vegetable languishing in your refrigerator, and adding leftover cooked chicken or pork for you meat eaters, or tofu for you vegetarians isn’t a bad idea either.

VEGETABLE FRIED RICE
Yield: 4-5 servings

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 medium onion, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, stemmed, cored and roughly chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled and shredded
  • 1 T garlic, minced
  • 1 (15oz can) corn, drained
  • 1/2 T ground ginger
  • 3 to 4 cups cooked white rice, cooled
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • ¼ baking wine, or water
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and black pepper to taste
  • ½ cup fresh cilantro 

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Put 1 tablespoon canola oil in a large skillet, and turn heat to high. When it begins to simmer, add onion, pepper and carrots.  Cook 5-10 minutes, or until softened and beginning to brown, stirring occasionally.  Remove vegetables and place in a medium bowl.
  2. Drain corn, and add it to skillet; cook, shaking pan, for about a minute, or until hot. Add to the bowl with veggies.
  3. Put remaining canola oil in the skillet, followed by garlic and rice, breaking up clumps with a spoon as you toss it with oil. When the rice is well coated, make a well in the center and break the eggs into it. Scramble, then stir into the rice.
  4. Return vegetables to the skillet and stir until combined. Add wine or water and cook, stirring, for approximately 1 minute. Add soy sauce and olive oil, then taste and add salt and pepper if desired. Turn off heat, stir in the cilantro and serve.

fullsizeoutput_1808

Don’t let the pictures deceive you…the rice doesn’t photograph well, but I assure you, it’s delicious!  I served it alongside a large salad for me and roasted chicken for Bryan. 🙂

That’s it for now friends. 🙂 Back to the couch I go.

Hope everyone had a nice weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

