Animals · Photos · Things I'm Lovin'

Just Some Things I’m Lovin’ Lately.

Wowza. How is it already June 8th?

Time flies…

And speaking of time, it’s time again for another round up of things I’m lovin’ lately.  Why? Because it’s been 3 months since my last one  and because I’m feeling all sorts of love today.  AND because I’m lovin’ uhhhh lot of things lately.  AND because I have been sick, busy and too tired to cook any extravagant meals, so if y’all want to hear from me, this is pretty much all I got right now. Capiche?

Oh, and… 

I kid. I kid.  That’s all I got.

  1. I have to start with this guy…Bryan.

IMG_6174

I have been so sick lately that simple chores like doing the dishes and laundry have been an unbearable task – I literally have never felt so fatigued in my life.  Bryan has been such a trooper and has been taking care of the pups, making me soup and grilled cheese sandwiches, and doing the dishes on a daily basis.  He is always really good about helping with household chores, but lately he has been kickin’ ass and takin’ names.

IMG_6474

I feel incredibly lucky to have such an incredible human to do life with.

2.  Plain Greek Yogurt

fullsizeoutput_1811

Such a simple thing to love, but lately, I can’t get enough of this protein-packed goodness. There’s just one catch, it has to be plain!  I used to love the flavored yogurts – vanilla, strawberry, blueberry… you name it, I loved it.  But I hate the idea of artificial sweeteners and honestly, I love the plain flavor!  Plus, it’s fun to add healthy, real sweeteners.

fullsizeoutput_1787

My favorites are fruit, chia seeds, honey, peanut butter and oatmeal. 🙂

3.  Beans…Beans… the musical fruit, the more you eat, the more you…

IMG_7236

LOVE BEANS! 😉  As a vegetarian, I have to find protein from other sources.  One of my favorite ways to get protein is by eating beans.  And guess what? They have a lot of fiber too!

Fiber is one of the reasons you may want to add beans to your menu. Most Americans fall way short of meeting their recommended daily fiber needs, according to the 2015 Dietary Guidelines for Americans. Depending on your age and gender, fiber needs range from 21 to 38 grams a day. A 1-cup serving of chickpeas provides about a third of your daily fiber needs (source).

Not only are they good with rice, but black beans and chickpeas also make a healthy addition to tacos, soups, salads and pasta dishes. As a legume, black beans and chickpeas contain nutrients found in protein foods such as poultry and seafood, as well as nutrients found in vegetables such as spinach and broccoli.

4.  Havarti Cheese: The Danish Delight.  Oh. My. Gawwwd.  I am obsessed with this stuff.

Born in Denmark and perfected in Wisconsin, Havarti cheese is smooth, buttery, and deserving of a place on your cheese platter.  It also adds a little geographic variety to your cheese tray, as it’s likely to be the only representative of Denmark. Welcome to Havarti.

fullsizeoutput_1813

I love slicing it up and eating it with crackers, bread, dried fruits and apples.  Oh, and I serve it with wine of course. 🙂  Havarti loves a good red wine like Cabernet sauvignon, pinot noir and merlot – 3 of my favorites! It was meant to be.

5.  Dogs. Dogs. Dogs. 

I’ve been doing a lot of dog sitting lately and I can’t get enough of these four-legged critters.

fullsizeoutput_1810fullsizeoutput_180ffullsizeoutput_180b

Most of the dogs I pet sit for have gotten to know me well and we have developed a strong relationship.  Nothing is more rewarding than opening the front door and having these pups remember me. They welcome me with kisses, butt wiggles and their unconditional puppy love.

“Dogs do speak. But only to those who know how listen.” -O. Pamuk

fullsizeoutput_180e

Man, I’m feeling the love. Hope you are too!

 

Leave a Reply

