Breakfast Foods · Dairy Free · Quick Meals · Recipes · Smoothies · Vegetarian

Avocado Blueberry Smoothie.

fullsizeoutput_182b

If you’re anything like me, you already love avocados in your salads, sandwiches,  and maybe even like eating them plain – well, how about in your smoothies?

No?

Yes?

Oh YES! 

Avocados are rich in omega fatty acids (the good fats!) and a perfect addition to a healthy vegetarian, vegan or any other diet. I try to add avocado to some part of my weekly meal line-up, but recently, I’ve been adding it to my daily meal line-up.

Why?

Well, because I recently had blood-work done which revealed that I have an under active thyroid, also called hypothyroidism.  Trust me, I was as shocked as you most likely are.  If anything, I would assume I was hyperthyroid, but that’s not what the doc said, and he knows a lot more than I do!  The doc has me taking a low dose of thyroid meds and also wants me to put on a few pounds.

Again, I’m as confused as you are…but he’s the doc!  And I haven’t been feeling my best lately – extremely fatigued and blah – so I’m trusting that he knows what he’s talking about.

While most of you are probably saying, “oh man, must be so tough being forced to put on a few pounds,” as your eyes roll into the back of your heads.  But honestly, it really is difficult for me to put on weight.  And it can be extremely frustrating.  Just as frustrating as it may be for some of you to lose those few extra pounds.

Since I’m not the type of person who can just go eat McDonalds and Taco Bell everyday, my solution is…

Avocados.

Oh, and peanut butter of course.  

So now, instead of just enjoying avocados in guacamole, salads and sandwiches, I’m diving into avocado smoothies!

I hope you’ll join me in this avocado adventure. 🙂

fullsizeoutput_1829

Avocado Blueberry Smoothie 
Yield: serves 1

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 ripe avocado
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 1/3 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1 medium banana, frozen and peeled
  • 1 T honey (or agave)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • dash of salt
  • ~7 ice cubes (depending on how thick you want it)

INSTRUCTIONS:  Add all ingredients to a high-speed blender. *Blend. Serve. Sip. Smile.

*Add more ice cubes or coconut water until you get desired consistency – I tend to like my smoothies on the thicker side.

fullsizeoutput_1828

I put the honey in immediately after the avocado and it went directly into the avocado pit!  It made me smile.

Hey, it’s the little things. 🙂

 

fullsizeoutput_182a

fullsizeoutput_182c

Happy Friday y’all!

I’m watching these two adorable greyhounds this weekend…

fullsizeoutput_1826

But after that, I promised myself (and Bryan) that I would take a break from dog sitting and spend more time at home.  Oh, and we are going to Costa Rica the first week of July, so I have to rest up for that!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

