15 minutes or less · beverage · Breakfast Foods · Quick Meals · Smoothies · Vegetarian

Fruity Nutty Smoothie.

fullsizeoutput_1843

I had to go to the dentist this past Thursday. 😦 No, it wasn’t just a regular cleaning/check-up – that happened a few weeks ago.  This appointment was to “fix” a tooth.  My dentist wasn’t quite sure what was going on with it.  He said it was either partially fractured or I had a nasty cavity.  In this situation neither outcome is ideal, but if I had pick, I was hoping for the cavity.

My tooth has been aching for months though, so honestly, I had a bad feeling about it…

Off to the dentist I went…

After almost cancelling twice…

Okay, three times…

Have I mentioned I HATE THE DENTIST?!  I have heard people say, “ohhh, I love going to the dentist!”  And to them I say,  you’re either crazy or you’re a liar.

Or both.

Once the doctor numbed the crap outta my tooth (after I whined for about 10 minutes), he started picking around and found that an old cavity was traveling deeper and deeper into my tooth under an old filling.  So he had to remove the old filling and replace it with a new one.  Which reminds me, when I was a kid, we had mercury fillings for cavities.  Remember those?!  Makes me cringe just thinking about it…

It also reminds me just how old I am.  Kids these days don’t understand what it was like to have mercery fillings…

And walk uphill both ways in 4 feet of snow…;)

Anywoooooo, it ended up not being nearly as bad as I expected (always a good thing), but when I got home, my mouth was still sore and numb and I was ravenous.

Smoothie time.

I first saw the idea for this smoothie recipe on one of my favorite blogs The Minimalist Baker. In her recipe, she uses Peanut Butter and frozen blueberries to create a Peanut Butter & Jelly flavor.  I decided to change things up a bit and try using Almond Butter and raspberries.

The result?

Epic.

fullsizeoutput_1847

This smoothie is delicious, light, refreshing and sweet.  Dates and bananas provide natural sweetness, raspberries plenty of Vitamin C, almond butter and chia seeds add protein and healthy fat.  Also, it’s only 6 ingredients so it’s super simple to make!  I had a hard time naming it so if you have any suggestions let me know!

Fruity Nutty Smoothie – this is what I came up with…don’t judge me.
Yield: serves 1

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 medjoul dates, pitted
  • 1 T natural almond butter
  • 1 medium banana, frozen and peeled
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup milk (depending on preferred thickness)- dairy or nondairy both work!
  • 1/3 cup fresh (or frozen) raspberries
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 3-4 ice cubes
INSTRUCTIONS:
  1. Add all ingredients to blender and mix until well combined. Add more ice to make it thicker, or more milk to thin it out. Enjoy!

fullsizeoutput_1844fullsizeoutput_1846

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

