15 minutes or less · Appetizers · Quick Meals · Recipes · Vegetarian

Creamy Corn Relish.

fullsizeoutput_1850

I’m a huge fan of corn (and no, I don’t mean the band Korn).  I think it stems from early childhood when my grandpa would bring over fresh corn straight from his garden and it tasted like nothing else on the planet.  Oh man my grandpa could grow and cook a mean corn on the cob.

“The trick is to only boil it for 2 minutes tops,” he would always say.  “People cook it too long and it gets mushy.”

This trick passed on down the line to my mother and now me…

Unfortunately, the corn in Florida isn’t nearly as good, so I usually settle for canned, but it hasn’t stopped me from loving this tall cereal plant.

I usually add it to salads and salsa, or I eat it plain dressings like extra virgin olive oil or butter.  But this time I wanted to do something different.  Mayonnaise came to mind…

fullsizeoutput_184d

And it worked. 

Light, creamy, flavorful and delicious.  And like most of my recipes, SO simple to make, making it the perfect summer side dish.

Creamy Corn Relish
Yield: Serves 2-3

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 (15oz) canned sweet corn, drained
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • ~4 drops hot sauce
  • 2 -3 T chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 T fresh lime juice

INSTRUCTIONS:

Heat oil in a medium skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic and onion and cook over medium heat until fragrant (be careful not to burn).  Drain corn & add it to the skillet with garlic & onion.  Cook over medium heat for about 3 minutes. Don’t overcook!

Remove from heat & add to a medium serving bowl.  Allow to cool for at least 15 minutes then add remaining ingredients.  Stir until well combined and adjust seasonings to taste. As always, ENJOY!

fullsizeoutput_184c

fullsizeoutput_184c

Happy Monday y’all!

fullsizeoutput_185d.jpeg

Lily already can’t wait for Friday…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

