Animals · Comfort Food · Popular · Recipes · Sea Turtles · Vegetarian

One Pot Garlic Havarti Pasta.

fullsizeoutput_185b

I’ve been craving pasta lately…(okay, let’s be real. I ALWAYS crave pasta. This is nothing new).

And not just any pasta, I’ve been yearning for pasta with thick, creamy white sauce.  I’ll be honest, I’ve never been a huge red pasta sauce gal.

“What do you mean?!” Bryan would say…“You put red sauce on everything…”

Okay, while he may be right (please don’t tell him I said that), for some reason I only like red sauce when I’m dipping breadsticks into it or smothering it on top of pizza (which already has some on it).

Pasta just taste so much better covered in Alfredo or… white cream or… garlic cream….

You get the idea.

When I came home Monday night, I decided it was finally the night to feed my pasta craving belly by creating a simple, one pot pasta with parmesan cream sauce, unfortunately,  I didn’t have any parmesan cheese (a rarity in our house).  The only cheese I had was a big chunk of Havarti.  Why not, I thought?  It’s thick and creamy, probably a little more than parmesan!  Plus, I love me some Havarti.

fullsizeoutput_185c

ONE POT GARLIC HAVARTI PASTA
Yield: 4 servings

Garlic and Havarti – A new match made in heaven. And with the help of a single pan.  Just think of this as a creamy alfredo, except without the heavy cream and the cream cheese. And the single pan aspect helps the noodles soak up all that amazing flavor, giving you that light cream sauce coating the noodles in all its garlic-Havarti glory. 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 T olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups veggie broth
  • 1 cup milk (add more if needed)
  • 2 T butter
  • 8 ounces uncooked fettuccine
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup Havarti cheese, grated
  • 2 T dried parsley

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add garlic and cook, stirring frequently, until fragrant, about 1-2 minutes (don’t burn!).
  2. Stir in veggie broth, milk, butter and pasta; season with salt and pepper, to taste.
  3. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until pasta is cooked through, about 18-20 minutes. Stir in Havarti. If the mixture is too thick, add more milk as needed until desired consistency is reached.
  4. Garnish with parsley & serve immediately.  Enjoy!

And now, for some amazing photos I snapped this week during sea turtle surveys…

IMG_7526fullsizeoutput_185e

No filter needed for this epic sunrise.

IMG_7574

I took this one on Tuesday morning.  I had about 11 crawls (when the female crawls up onto the beach) and 4 nests within about 100 feet.  The mommas must have had a party on Monday night!

IMG_7575

My friend Melissa took this one of a leatherback hatchling.  I always get super emotional and excited when I see these!  Literally…I cry. It’s sad really. 😉   But I guess it reassures me that I’m doing something I love!

Okay, before I sign off, I want to wish y’all a very Happy & safe Fourth of July.  Bryan and I are headed to Costa Rica tomorrow so I will be M.I.A for awhile.  We are both so excited – we’ve been working very hard and saving for this trip so it will be so nice to get away for awhile.  And the best part? I have NO idea what we are doing! Bryan has planned all of it, I’m just going along for the ride.  I told him as long as I see a macaw, a sloth, a squirrel monkey and a capuchin and drink some good coffee and wine I’ll be happy.  That’s not too much to ask is it? 😉

Adios y’all! 

 

Leave a Reply

