15 minutes or less · Animals · Breakfast Foods · Dogs · Quick Meals · Sea Turtles · Vegetarian

Pineapple Smoothie Bowl.

Hola!  We are back from Costa Rica and I hope y’all haven’t forgotten about me because I haven’t forgotten about you!  In fact, I thought about you a lot during my time in Central America – when I was eating incredible food and when I was hiking through the cloud forest, I thought about how much I couldn’t wait to share my experiences with y’all! So, on that note, it’s good to be back. 🙂  I can’t wait to share some of our pictures – which I promise to soon!

But first, I want to share with you some wonderful news…

Drum roll please…

IMG_7995IMG_7918

We got engaged!  Bryan popped the question on my birthday while we were in Drake Bay, Costa Rica.  It was perfect. I’m so excited to share my life with this incredible human.

People keep asking me if I had any clue he was going to ask and honestly, I had NO CLUE, which I suppose is a good thing, right? 😉

Okay, now that I have that out of the way (I’ll share more details later)… I want to share with you a new recipe I had today.

You ready?…

While we were in Costa Rica, we ate a lot of fresh fruit.  So. Damn. Good.  And while I love most fruit – especially when they are local, ripe and fresh, I especially love pineapple.  We ate a lot of fresh pineapple while we were there so when we got home, I was still craving it.

Unfortunately, I was too nervous to buy a fresh one, thinking it wouldn’t be nearly as good, so I settled for frozen.

And what did I do with it?

Nope… no smoothie.

Shocking right? 

I decided to change things up and make a Pineapple Smoothie Bowl! This was my little way of treating myself to a mini post getaway-getaway…kinda like a pina colada, but without the umbrella…and without the rum.  We all need those sometimes, don’t you agree?  Some deem them as a vacation after a vacation.

fullsizeoutput_18a1

Pineapple Smoothie Bowl
Yield: serves 1
Adapted lightly from Kitchenconfidante

INGREDIENTS:

For the Pineapple Smoothie Bowl:

  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 2 cups frozen pineapples
  • 1 T honey or agave

Toppings:

  • sliced bananas
  • sliced pineapple
  • shredded coconut
  • chia seeds
  • honey

INSTRUCTIONS:

In a blender, add the milk, banana, pineapple and honey (in that order). Blend on low speed until the mixture is thick and creamy.  Transfer to a bowl and let it set in the freezer while you prepare your toppings.

Top with bananas, pineapple, coconut, chia seeds, and a good drizzle of honey. Enjoy!

fullsizeoutput_18a2

It’s good to be back!  Hope you’re having a good week so far.

And in case you’re not…

Here are some pictures to cheer you up.

fullsizeoutput_189f

I had the pleasure of meeting these two last week while I was doing sea turtle surveys. It’s almost too much, isn’t it?

And finally…

fullsizeoutput_18a4

You can never have too much of Buddy. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

